How has your career and/or educational background helped you make purchasing decisions?

I’m a behavioral health provider so I’ve learned a lot about behavioral economics and how brands encourage purchasing, as well as how to evaluate media and advertising claims. This has helped me see through some misleading sales tactics and gives me a foundation to understand ingredients/packaging components so I can make my own opinions instead of relying on what other people say.

These are some sources that I’ve found helpful (they’re old but there are newer versions too)

• How to Lie With Statistics (book)
  • The Tiger That Isn’t (book)
  • Freakonomics (book, blog, and podcast)
  • Planet Money (podcast)
1 Like

I’ve dealt with my skin for 40 years and have a great dermatologist that helps me. I know what ingredients are bad for me and what ones really help me

1 Like

I’m a General Nurse Practitioner and My educational background, Ancestry, and military years have allowed me to use lesson learned in Countries I’ve visited and the ones I am a citizen of to the pick items good for ethnic skin and preservatives in items that can be very harmful to the skin of people of color.

My grandmother back in Trinidad used to make all things with Coconut oil and Shea butter and that kept the skin clear and glowing, However I remember when I would live in the states none of the items used there were available here so I would try different items. The environment and items available, were horrible on my skin. When in the military and college I started using Chem class to look up items and made a few items for my skin myself. (disclaimer, not saying that is the best idea) it just worked for me.

I asked questions of the locals for items to protect my skin when stationed in Japan and I Saudi Arabia.

1 Like