Routine for Curly Hair

Hi!I’ve been looking for a solid routine that I can stick to in order to keep my curls looking nice.The heat and humidity from Portland’s summer is helping a little, but I’d love to hear what everyone’s routine is!

1 Like

I can’t help with the curly hair topic, as my hair is fine, and straight.

It’s very long so my routine is to wash then air dry.

Once dry,
I usually straighten it with a flat iron to even out the rough spots.

I am a huge fan of Batiste dry shampoo and use it daily after my shampoo day.

I try and stretch the washes to where I wash every 3rd day.

What do you use for a heat protectant?

have you tried sheamoisture?

I’ve been using Shea Moisture for about 6 months now and absolutely love it. They have a line for curly hair which I use. My hair is more wavy, then curly.

If you have naturally curly or wavy hair and want an easy natural look routine. I use a spritz in the shower
of salt and hot water…i mix it prior to my shower, shake it up real good and then spray on my hair before I get out of the shower.
I wring as much water out as possible and then gently towel dry, followed by air drying completely.
I try to avoid thermal heat when I want to achieve the curly look.

For heat protectant I use 3 main types and switch up from time to time.
EvaNYC makes a mane magic 10 in 1 primer that I love and it contains a heat protectant.

Also Ouai and N4 Haircare have great prep and protect products.

I have some natural curl/wave to my hair and my hair is chemically dependent.I have a huge arsenal of products that I rotate through.If I am wanting to embrace some wave and curl I use a heat protectant, curl enhancer, a little oil, and I use low temp and low blow setting on my dryer.

My hair is really straight, so I have no idea. I often wish I had curly hair though. I had my hair curled really pretty, back when I went to prom in high school, and I absolutely loved the way it looked.